STUART WEBSTER (Autobiography 11)

J. S. WEBSTER

Stuart Webster –or J. S. W. as he signed pictures, or Beaver as he was known to us- was my Art Master for the whole time I was a pupil at Gresham’s, from the time I arrived in short trousers until I was nearly nineteen. No other teacher followed me throughout my school career. The Chaplain also remained it is true, but I think all the regular lessons in Divinty (as we called R.E.) ceased during the Sixth Form. P.E. certainly did, but Art increased in importance for me, as it was one of my ‘A’ level subjects. Also, where the other subjects of English and History required a lot of reading in my study, Art needed my presence in the Art Room. The result was that I got very well acquainted with Stuart Webster and became quite friendly with him.

His great love was landscape painting in watercolour. He took his subjects very largely from the North Norfolk he knew and loved. He married late, when he was almost 60. It was after I had left school. He was the one teacher I remained in contact with; I remember afternoons spent with him at his marital home, a cottage in Hunworth. For instance here is a brief note from my diary of July 1st 1972 (five years after I had left school): … drove off to Sheringham where I wasted 2p on the machines – they both got stuck in the mechanism – so I did not get my fun. Then to Holt and looked round the town, then to Hunworth and had sherry with Mr Webster. He liked my pictures, and the Daf in which I took them [Stuart Webster and his wife] for a drive. Then to the OG party…  After so many years of flat dwelling he was very taken with actually owning a lawn mower! It was called a Lawnderette.

JAMES DYSON,inventor of the DYSON vacuum cleaner.

He had been trained in Industrial Design at the Art College in Liverpool, and as such he should have been the ideal teacher for (Sir) James Dyson. Sadly the industrial side of things got no attention in Beaver’s teaching, but I think he should get some credit for developing Dyson’s artistic talent. The young student’s art was exhibited at Speech Day, and was favourably noted by my father.

It is quite something to have taught a boy who later became a billionaire through his abilities; unfortunately Beaver knew nothing about Dyson vacuum cleaners, having died at a relatively young age in 1976 (he had been retired only four years and would not have been over 65). He had a generous obituary in the Eastern Daily Press, written by Malcolm Freeguard the BBC producer and, I believe, a former Gresham’s teacher. Stuart Webster is mentioned in James Dyson’s autobiography Against the Odds. He states that he was a charming man and a great watercolourist, but says he was an alcoholic. Beaver liked his pint it is true, but the impresion of his being permanently drunk is not. I blame his ghost writer (Giles Coren) who never knew J. S. Webster. It is a very unfair comment.

JIMMY DODD

His leisure time was largely taken up in playing golf. His partner was Jimmy Dodd, my French teacher who lived in The Grove with his aged mother. Like Stuart Webster when I was a schoolboy, he was unmarried.  The nearest Golf Coure is the one at Sheringham, but there was also that at Cromer and the Links at West Runton. Stuart Webster was short and stout with a manner that could appear pompous, but was redeemed by abundant good humour. When I was a young prep school boy in shorts he would appear at Crossways and play the piano while reciting STANLEY HOLLOWAY’S Albert and the Lion; we loved it.

Stuart Webster did not drive, so moving out to Hunworth meant he was dependent on his wife to drive him home. Before his marriage in 1969 he lived in a flat in Holt and was driven around when necessary by friends such as Mr Dodd. For his day to day movements he had a an old green bicycle on which he would proceed in a very upright posture.

I visited his widow at their cottage in Hunworth with my friend Bill Wragge and we purchased some of his watercolours after his death. The picture illustrated is of the Dun Cow at Salthouse. He did not appreciate the picture and would not sign it, although I think it is perfectly acceptable. By this stage  his style had evolved to a looser and more atmospheric one, represented by another picture in my collection.

THE DUN COW AT SALTHOUSE, NORTH NORFOLK COAST, BY J.S.W.

THE DUN COW AT SALTHOUSE, NORTH NORFOLK COAST, BY J.S.W.

JOSEPH MASON

THE BLOG FOR MEMORIES OF EAST ANGLIAN LIFE

joemasonspage@gmail.com

2 responses

  1. I found your blog very interesting, as I’m doing a project at school on natural painting scenes. My dad suggested Stuart as he is my dads great uncle. This is one of the only things I have been able to find via the Internet, and will help me greatly. Thank you for writing it!

    Like

    1. Thank you for getting in touch. It was quite a surprise to hear from one of his relatives. There isn’t much about him on the web, but some of his pictures have come up for sale at G. A. Keys at Aylsham and are illustrated in their catalogue online. He deserves to be better known, so maybe your project will help to bring this about. Joe

      Like

Leave a Reply

