DORCHESTER WEST STATION

DORCHESTER (WEST) Station

This photo I took in the summer of 1963. I was on the way down to Weymouth with my sister Tiggie to catch the ferry to Guernsey where she was teaching. I can’t think why we were at Dorchester station. I think we were driving down in the Fiat 500 that was later given to me, although we could have been going by train. I have certainly been to Weymouth by train, in the days when the boat train was pulled through the streets and onto the pier to meet the ferry. This was in pre ro-ro days and the ferry would have been British Railways’ Sarnia or Caesarea. Fourteen years later I wa going to France to visit the Baie de Somme narrow gauge railway, and came across the Caesarea again. She had been taken off the Channel Islands route when it went roll-on roll-off, and had reappeared on the route from Folkstone to Boulogne.

Baie de Somme Railway. http://www.cfbs.eu/

Caesarea.      http://www.hhvferry.com/Caesarea.html

Joseph Mason

Your feedback is important to me. Email me on joemasonspage@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

