Farfield (2)

FARFIELD (2)

NIGEL DICK

The author with Nigel Dick as the Wilmslow Boy

The Gresham’s School celebratory dinner passed off well lat Saturday.  In first post on Farfield I mentioned the fact that a number of relatively minor talents were among the old boys of the house. They are only minor in relation to W. H. Auden and Benjamin Britten of course; most schools would number them among their stars.

One such person is Nigel Dick. He is known as a pioneer of the Pop Video, having worked with Guns ‘n’ Roses, Oasis and Britney Spears. He is now based in L.A., and was not present on Saturday, though his name did crop up.My interest in him however has nothing to do with all that. It goes back to 1967 when he was just beginning his Farfield career, and I was just ending mine. In the house play of that spring he was the Wilmslow boy, and I played his father.

I doddered about on a stick very much as I do now, only this time it’s for real. We had two of the most important parts in the play. I generally like Rattigan, but the “Wilmslow Boy” is not one of my favourites. I must admit that until I was reminiscing with old friends I had entirely forgotten this episode in my past. You may think that for its utter insignificance it should have remained that way.

See:  Nigel Dick    www.nigeldick.com

The Wilmslow Boy     http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Winslow_Boy

 Joseph Mason

Leave a Reply

