NOT IN MY BACK YARD

There’s half a tonne of rubbish
piled up in my back yard.

There’s two old carpets, three rag mats;
Some fish heads I meant to feed the cats
-But I hope there aren’t too many rats.
Not in my back yard.

There’s busted bags and empty cans
There’s rotten planks and rusty pans
Two women’s bikes (but not a man’s,
Not in my back yard).

There’s a shoe which always came unlaced
An empty tube of paper paste
At least there ain’t no nuclear waste.
Not in my back yard.

Although I’ve listed quite a lot
It isn’t half of what I’ve got
I’ve even a linen line, tied in a knot –
Knot in my back yard.

JOSEPH MASON

Leave a Reply

